B i o g r a p h y

aUdiOLoGiStS
:

 the dub duo

Frédéric Niort (Brain Pit) from France and LaTricia Sealy (Kamik) from the USA, form the dub duo AUDIOLOGISTS. Their compositions are loaded with bumping bass, syncopated drums, mellow keys and supple samples.

Tapping, sliding, EQing and more, Brain Pit brings his deeply-influenced-by-Lee “Scratch” Perry-and-Sly & Robbie rehashed, reggae dub side to his elaborate workstation, while Kamik tweaks her quirky vocals like a voice over talent. Together, AUDIOLOGISTS treat and transform sounds to create a sonic equilibrium that encourages the auditor to merely listen and feel.

With titles like “The Last Candy”, “B.O. Protus” and “The Green Bean's Dance”, AUDIOLOGISTS' songs have a zany feel to them. They are steeped in the atmosphere of their creation and a wave of thought organizes itself as each story unfolds. This approach yields songs, which – though addressing the seriousness of writing, singing, composing and arranging – are conceived with a lightness that both Brain Pit and Kamik feel is necessary in life.

 

Journeying across syncopated rhythms and swaying bass lines, diverse components and creative arrangements artistically combine, giving life to an atypical style of music overflowing with unanticipated emotion. AUDIOLOGISTS: a unique collaboration of musicians, sound and reflective composition artistry to soothe the soul!

“We shouldn't take ourselves too seriously,” states Brain Pit,.“Life structures itself and only takes on meaning with the passing of time.”

BRAIN PIT

Classic rock from Ten Years After, Jethro Thull, Santana and The Doors; reggae/dub from Bob Marley, Culture, Mighty Diamonds and Gregory Isaacs; hip-hop/rap from NTM, Blackalicious, Jurassic 5, Java and Roots Manuva... Brain Pit gobbled it all up!

Growing up in Mauzé-Thouarsais, in France with the sounds of the 60's and 70's Brain Pit began his musical journey with an acoustic guitar in 1992 then bought himself an electric guitar later in his teens. In time, exploring sound matter became his true passion. He started changing over equipment in 1999 and continued to experiment, voyaging through the infinite universe of sound. Self-taught, Brain Pit purchased a digital recorder and embarked upon a musical journey by means of looping. With that in hand he explored the bass guitar, tickled the ivories of an old keyboard and got a drum set to improve his musicianship.

 

He moved to Toulouse in 2005 and once again he picked up acoustic guitar delving into the lyrical rhythms of Brazilian Bossa nova and Spanish Flamenco. Both techniques deepened his perspective of acoustic instruments, but something was still missing. Feeding his musical appetite, he sought out new sound vibrations in the bass clarinet and the tenor saxophone. Brain Pit found the tenor sax was capable of it all; melodies, rhythms, bass lines, even cardio sessions!

 

Soon, the desire to integrate the two worlds – musical instruments with that of digital music machines – emerged. In 2009, Brain Pit made the Akai MPC 5000 sampler/sequencer the centerpiece of his installation. In little time, he became fascinated by the capacity of pedals and after adding an MPC Live to his configuration in 2017, he began arranging songs with Kamik: AUDIOLOGISTS was formed.

 

Having passed through several phases and musical apparatus, and driven by an insatiable yearning to share his experiences from rock to reggae via the indispensable James Brown, Brain Pit wished to create his own distinctive sound. Currently, his dub fusion compositions are drawn from a web of oldschool dub woven with reggae, funk, hip-hop and 90's dance. Brain Pit is the backbone of the refined tracks introduced to you by AUDIOLOGISTS today!

KAMIK

Raised by Bajans from the Caribbean islands, Kamik often heard the songs of Beres Hammond, Sanchez, Grynner, Edwin Yearwood, Alison Hinds and Mighty Gabby at family gatherings. However, hip-hop, R&B, rap and classic Cape Verdean music blasted throughout her childhood neighborhood of Dorchester, Massachusetts in the USA. She went to grade school in the suburb of Lexington where alternative rock of the 90's caught her ear.

 

Years later while studying theater in Illinois, the eclectic musical events held at the Old Town School of Folk Music sparked Kamik's interest in world music and American folk. She graduated from Northwestern University in 2006 then moved to France, giving herself a year to improve her French. Thirteen years down the road, Kamik is bilingual and still resides in Toulouse.

“Musician friends of mine heard me sing at open mics, riverside jams, and house parties. A few of them asked me if I wanted to participate in their respective projects. I said 'Yes', and that's how I started singing.”

From 2013 to 2017 Kamik was the lead singer of the funk/groove band Struts who released the album A Rush in 2015. Prior to that, she had put out two featurings – “Ten Fingers” and “In Disguise” – on Undergang's Hang On in 2014. That same year, Kamik met Brain Pit. He told her about musicians such as Nina Hagen and familiarized her with Jamaican dub. And here it began, making music together and the dawn of AUDIOLOGISTS.

 

Most often Kamik's lyrics originate as poems and prose written outside a musical context, and sometimes they are inspired by song titles that Brain Pit creates beforehand. Others are freestyled into a workable draft during band practices and edited until the duo decides on a final song structure. Their major themes are time and coherence.

 

Today, Kamik – an untiring listener of Huun-Huur-Tu, Phoebe Snow and Meshell Ndegeocello – blends her her influences with her unique lyricism to whip up a savourous smoothie of soothing sound vibration à la AUDIOLOGISTS!

 
 
 

© 2019 aUdiOLoGiStS, All Rights Reserved.

- dub fusion - Toulouse, France

B i o g r a p h i e

aUdiOLoGiStS
:

 le duo dub

Frédéric Niort (Brain Pit) de France et LaTricia Sealy (Kamik) des États-Unis forment le duo dub : AUDIOLOGISTS. Leurs compositions sont nourries de basses rebondissantes, de batteries syncopées, de synthés aux sons chaleureux, et de samples souples.

 

Aux machines, taping, gliding, EQing et plus, Brain Pit propose son côté reggae dub remanié par un ancrage à Horace Andy, Lee « Scratch » Perry et Sly & Robbie, alors que Kamik altère sa voix excentrique passant d’une berceuse à celle du dub poetry. AUDIOLOGISTS transforment les sons en créant un équilibre sonore qui encourage l'auditeur à écouter et à ressentir, tout simplement.

 

Avec « The Last Candy », « B.O. Protus » et « The Green Bean's Dance », les morceaux d'AUDIOLOGISTS, un peu loufoques, sont imprégnés du moment, de l'ambiance, de l'observation des pensées qui s'organisent dans l'instant. Cette approche donne lieu à une compilation de heureux hasards qui seront confrontés à l'exercice de l'écriture, du chant et de l'arrangement avant la composition finale. Tout cela est conçu avec une légèreté que Brain Pit et Kamik considèrent nécessaire dans la vie.

Voyage entre rythme syncopé et basslines chaloupées, les samples s'additionnent pour que prenne vie une musique atypique débordante d'émotions insoupçonnées. Les morceaux se construisent, donc, de manière empirique jusqu'à ce que les boucles récurrentes nous fassent entrer dans une sorte de transe. AUDIOLOGISTS : pour un son qui apaise l'âme !

« On ne devrait pas se prendre trop au sérieux », dit Brain Pit,
La vie s'organise et ne prend sens que par la volonté du temps. »

BRAIN PIT

Les guitares rock de Ten Years After, Jethro Thull, Santana et The Doors ; le reggae/dub de Bob Marley, Culture, Mighty Diamonds et Gregory Isaacs ; le hip-hop/rap de NTM, Blackalicious, Jurassic 5, Java et Roots Manuva... Brain Pit les a tous engloutis !

Bercé par le son des années 60, 70 Brain Pit, né à Mauzé-Thouarsais en France, apprend la guitare classique puis achète une guitare électrique. Dès lors, l'exploration de la matière sonore devient pour lui une vraie passion. L'achat et la revente de matériel à partir de 1999 se succèdent et lui permettent de découvrir l'univers sans fin du son. Autodidacte, la nécessité de s'immerger dans l'écoute en boucle pour apprendre l'amène à acheter un enregistreur numérique. Puis il explore la basse, « claviote » sur un vieux synthé et fait l'acquisition d'une batterie pour ajouter une corde à son arc.

 

En 2005 il déménage à Toulouse laissant derrière lui le studio de sa jeunesse. Il reprend la guitare classique, étudie la bossa nova, survole le flamenco afin d'approfondir encore un peu plus la pratique de son instrument premier. Toujours en quête de vibrations sonores, il apprend la clarinette basse puis découvre le saxophone ténor dont il tombe amoureux. Mélodie, rythme, ligne de basse, l'instrument semble être capable de tout faire même séance de cardio !

 

Après quelque temps, le désir de faire cohabiter les deux univers, instruments et machines, émerge. En 2009, c'est un sampler/séquenceur Akai MPC 5000 qui devient la pièce maîtresse de son installation. Mais petit à petit, Brain Pit laisse de côté les instruments pour expérimenter la MPC Studio et s'enfoncer dans les méandres des machines. Depuis 2017, c'est l'intégration d'une MPC Live qui devient le fondement des morceaux d'AUDIOLOGISTS.

 

Le fait d'être passé par plusieurs étapes et configurations de matériel de musique, et surtout son envie de partager ses expériences sonores venant du rock au reggae en passant par l'incontournable James Brown, tout cela pousse Brain Pit à composer. Actuellement, sa musique dub fusion s'inspire d'une toile dub oldschool tissé de reggae, funk, hip-hop et de la musique Dance des années 90. Brain Pit est l'épine dorsale des morceaux affinés que produit aujourd'hui AUDIOLOGISTS.

KAMIK

Issue d'une famille originaire de la Barbade, Kamik écoutait souvent les chansons de Beres Hammond, Sanchez, Grynner, Edwin Yearwood, Alison Hinds ou encore Mighty Gabby lors des réunions familiales. Dans son quartier de Dorchester, Massachusetts aux États-Unis le hip-hop, le R&B, le rap et les classiques du Cap-Vert étaient diffusés à fond. Kamik était scolarisée dans la banlieue de Lexington où le rock alternatif des années 90 a attiré son attention.

 

Des années plus tard, alors qu'elle étudiait le théâtre dans l'état d'Illinois, les événements éclectiques qui avaient lieu à Old Town School of Folk Music l'ont éveillée aux musiques du monde et au folk américain. En 2006, Kamik obtient sa licence à Northwestern University, puis part séjourner un an en France dans le but d’améliorer son français. Treize années plus tard, elle est bilingue et réside toujours à Toulouse.

« Mes amis musiciens m'ont entendu chanter aux scènes ouvertes, au bord de la Garonne ou aux fêtes. Certains entre eux m'ont demandé si je voulais participer dans leurs projets respectifs. J'ai répondu 'Oui', et c'est comme ça j'ai commencé à chanter. »

De 2013 à 2017 Kamik était la chanteuse du groupe Struts qui a sorti l'album A Rush en 2015. Antérieurement, elle a enregistré deux featurings – “Ten Fingers” et “In Disguise” – sur l'album d'Undergang Hang On en 2014. Cette même année, Kamik rencontre Brain Pit qui lui parle de musiciens comme Nina Hagen et la familiarise avec le dub originaire de la Jamaïque. Par la suite, ils commencent à faire de la musique ensemble pour former AUDIOLOGISTS.

 

Dans le plupart des cas, Kamik écrit de la prose et des poèmes en dehors d'un contexte musical puis les adapte aux morceaux. Certaines paroles sont inspirées par les titres que Brain Pit trouve à l'avance. D'autres sont improvisées et s'esquissent pendant leurs répétitions jusqu'à ce que le duo décide d'un structure finale.

 

Aujourd'hui, Kamik, infatigable auditrice de Huun-Huur-Tu, Phoebe Snow et Meshell Ndegeocello, mélange toutes ses influences pour servir un smoothie bien épais et savoureux diffusé par AUDIOLOGISTS.

 
 
 

© 2019 aUdiOLoGiStS, Tous droits réservés.

- dub fusion - Toulouse, France